Rumors

lies
watered
watered lies
watered down lies
Walter Down lies
Walter Downs died
Walter drowned and died
Walter drowned in the water and died
Walter Downs died when he lied
Walter Down lied and died
Walter Down died
Walter Down lied
watered down lies
watered lies
watered
lies

j.turner
1983

10 responses to “Rumors

  1. I was 21 when I wrote this little poem. I read this now at 45 and I feel the same way about rumors.

  2. The Lovely Wife

    Man! I think I can see your heart.
    Thump. Thump.
    Thump. Thump.
    And what a heart it is.
    Hubba! Hubba! TLW…ROAR.

  3. very clever, well written.

  4. KRKBAKER… coming from you, that’s quite a compliment. Thank you. I was young and unencumbered with the “stuff.” I’m posting these trying to rekindle my poetry side.

  5. I actually like your poem better than the link you posted.

  6. Thank you… tell me why. Obviously poetry is subjective, but you have a degree in this, and you write beautifully, so give me some insight, if you don’t mind.

  7. I’m not one to rain on someone’s parade of inspiration; I would just say that for me, the rhyming could have been better (using the same word twice in a row), and there was a spelling error (which happens to all of us from time to time, but it should be corrected if you spot it).
    I also felt that the author was ‘trying’ to write a poem; it wasn’t necessarily coming from her heart, her guts. I could be wrong though.
    When I read your poems, before I ever read your profile history, I got a sense of someone either in an institution himself, or watching someone he knew going through being institutionalized. Your poem ‘Rumors’ experiments in word play; it resonates a sense of playfulness even though the content is heavy. I liked it.

  8. At the time I wrote most of these poems, I felt like I was going to end up in an institution! I can’t sit down and say, “now I’m going to write a poem.” Or anything else for that matter. Everything just comes out in a stream or it doesn’t come out at all. So I think I value it less as a result.

    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

