consider the raven

see the bird
he flies so high
his home is in the sea blue sky
men call his name
he will not come
his mind is set on things above

see the man
he flies so high
his home’s the apple of his eye
god calls his name
he does not hear
his mind is set on things too near

j.turner
7/1/85

3 responses to “consider the raven

  1. Looking back, I think this poem might actually have been about myself. I didn’t think so at the time. From age 15-22 I thought one day I might pursue a preaching career. Well, life took a totally different turn. The Jack Daniel’s tattoo on my left arm is prime evidence of that. šŸ™‚

    This was based on Luke 12:22-34 for any interested.

  2. The bird is a good metaphor; I understand what you are saying here. It is easy to lose track of ourselves, our spirituality-esp. in our teens and early twenties. I was curious what you thought of my short, Rutcker’s Store?

  3. Thank you. I stopped by and left a comment. It’s a powerful story. Very, very powerful in it’s simplicity. I really enjoy your writings.

Leave a Reply

