morning meetings

my mind is on auto in morning meetings
it has no purpose or course
it seems controlled by some external guide
an uncontrollable neutral force
i catch myself in the paper ocean
riding a daydream boat
without a wheel
without a single directed notion
only after an hour of freedom
do the synapses begin to touch
and i bring my mind back to this morning meeting
just in time to make it to lunch

j.turner
1/12/85
in a morning meeting

11 responses to “morning meetings

  1. This is good, has your visit to the poetry of the past stirred any new creative juices of the now? I know that was your goal.
    “i catch myself in the paper ocean
    riding a daydream boat
    without a wheel
    without a single directed notion”
    nice description, imagery

  2. I keep hoping. Nothing yet. I was more ‘tormented’ then. I think I may be too happy for anything but chilren’s poetry. 🙂

  3. children’s poetry is fabulous. i love dan zane, etc. go with that. it doesn’t have to be dark to be good you know.

  4. Thanks for reminding me that children’s poetry IS real poetry. I forget sometimes. I love Dan Zanes as well. We have his CD’s “Parades & Panoramas” here in this house. The entire album is songs collected by Carl Sandburg. I think he was a poet. 🙂

    My personal favorite is “The Moneky’s Wedding.”

  5. If there is anything that will make you take a good look inside, it’s being a parent. Nothing can or ever will torment you the way being a role model/responsible for another life, will. That more than anything will make you face demons you thought were gone, in a hope that you will not transfer your own fears/weaknesses onto your children. There’s good stuff there, you just have to tap into it.
    And yes, Sandburg was a poet. 🙂

  6. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT!

  7. Last comment, I promise; per our conversation, I remembered a poem I studied in college by Yeats. You may be familiar, but I thought I’d post a portion of it here, it kind of goes with what we’ve been talking about.

    “I walk among the long schoolroom questioning;
    A kind old nun in white hood replies;
    The children learn to cipher and to sing;
    To study reading-books and history,
    To cut and sew, be neat in everything
    In the best modern way-the children’s eyes
    In momentary wonder stare upon
    A sixty-year old smiling public man.”

    -Among School Children, William B. Yeats

  8. Very nice, but I hope it’s not your last comment!

  9. Ahh, the morning meeting. How I used to hate those! This one really hit a nerve with me. Thank God I no longer have morning meetings in my life.

    –Smith

  10. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

