lost identity

hairy mary, had long hair she
grew up as a sideshow freak
met a man named snake oil larry
cut her hair within the week
everything that was her world
she gave up for a man
now he’s found another girl
and she another plan

jwturner
02/16/2007
forcing myself to write

15 responses to “lost identity

  1. That’s what comes out when I try to force myself to write. πŸ™‚

  2. Nick -you know who

    great poem & underlying theme,
    especially for some
    who found in it some meaning.

    life continues & returns
    to & from its begginning,
    circles are the paths
    to which we seek the reasons.

    ΓΆ – i need to recover from the sensory overload which I have recently received.

  3. Very Gift of the Magi – I like it….
    reminder not to lose one’s identity, even within the confines of a promising relationship…even within the confines of a long and happy one!

  4. We always, as in always, have another plan πŸ™‚

  5. “and she another plan” – What’s the plan, I’ve been contemplating what it was. Love it.

  6. tomachfive… in my head, she loses her identity to this guy, who gets her to cut her hair, her identity, her connection to her past. I don’t know what the new plan is… but it’s one that won’t be impacted by the next guy. At least in my head.

  7. It’s good at times to force yourself to write. Even if it isn’t what you would consider your best work. I’m all the time trying to push myself outside of my comfort zone. It helps with the other stuff.
    That being said, I was delighted with this poem.
    And your description is dead on, many women try to change themselves to get a man to love them and in the end, it is themselves whom they shortchange.
    Fabulous!
    Kim

  8. Kim, thanks. I loved your withdrawal poem. Loved it. I wrote a poem on the plan to philadelphia today. Not sure I’m going to share it yet, but I probably will. Thank you for your encouragement.

  9. where’s the poem from the plane?
    btw, i read this one again
    still good.

  10. Poor hairy mary. Sometimes life really is a freaky sideshow, isn’t it?
    WC

  11. πŸ™‚ I know my life is often a freaky sideshow to whatever “real” life is!

  12. Helo, it is very interesting site. If You want you can visit mine. chain does hang low lyric I have make it myself. There you can find all about chain does hang low lyric etc…

Leave a Reply

