just the surface

the me i show
is just the surface
my confidence
my courage
the me below
hides on purpose
my doubt
my fear

if i let you know
let you inside
to look
to love
would you care to go
to take a ride
to feel
to heal
to help me grow
to bury pride
to live
to fly

the me i show
is just the surface

jwturner
us airways flight 1422
2/21/2007

11 responses to “just the surface

  1. the inside and the ouside of a person. How we come to grips with the “other”.

    ggw

  2. Naughty Heather

    Letting someone in is the hardest thing a person can do. I struggle with this…I think if everyone was honest we all do.

    Great post, universal and deep.

    Welcome back 🙂

  3. Oh, I love it. It flows nicely, reads easy. A + 🙂

  4. and I’m not just saying that.

  5. You forced me back. 🙂

    I don’t know how others do it, writing stuff like this everyday.

  6. It’s simple
    writers always have something to say
    and they automatically think someone else wants to hear it or read it
    we’re full of ourselves……..
    I’m only half kidding.
    The only time it gets tricky is when it gets personal. That’s the hard stuff. Like my recent one ‘Remember Days’ about my struggle with eating disorder, but no one really would know that unless I told them and well, now I’ve told you, but the great thing about poetry is what each piece can mean to you.

  7. wow, i thought it was about a lover… i guess it was, in a sense. wow. powerful. truly.

  8. my goodness.. it feels as if you see inside us all.. pretty powerful stuff

  9. to me its more than a read. its been a discovery and a path over the past 5 years. the path less taken, if you will.
    there’s me (the real me), then nick (my guardian to the outside world), then little nicky (the child inside that loves to play.
    i’m (me) is normally in control, but the other two pop up from time to time.
    just ask any of the 3 me’s 🙂

  10. 🙂 I guess we all have a few me’s if we’re honest. But I think me is always in control. Me gives permission for child and guardian to have control, but they don’t really have it. Me allows them to be. At least, that’s the we ME sees it. 🙂

  11. Kaye… thank you for stopping by!!

Leave a Reply

