The Indecision of Youth

When will I become a man?
Will I feel it when I do?
Is the process taking place in me
as it’s taken place in you?
How long will indecision reign?
How long before I’ll know
what course my life will follow
and how far that I shall go?
Will youth give way to wisdom?
Will chance give way to plan?
Will I know that change has taken place
when I’ve become a man?

jwturner
January 27, 1985

13 responses to “The Indecision of Youth

  1. I found this in an old archive tonight. I was 23 when I wrote this, and in the throws of decisions that would alter the direction of my life in ways, at the time, I could not have imagined.

  2. Naughty Heather

    I like the cadence here – and the questions…

    So, do you think you made the right decisions?

  3. Oh yes! Much pain, much turmoil, but in the end… bliss. I wouldn’t trade my life with anyone. 🙂

  4. Naughty Heather

    I agree – despite it all, I can’t imagine life any other way.

  5. There is something wonderful about poetry written when we are young – especially later on. It always astounds me when I find an old piece that still holds truth for me – and even shows there was some measure of wisdom trying to come out. I imagine you had a similar experience with this.

    A timeless topic, executed nicely. Bravo.
    WC

  6. Valid, important questions even the old must answer, searching deeply and honestly. Musical choice of words.

  7. writerchick… I could not agree more. The memories and emotions that come from finding these gems are truly astounding. I can feel the youthful angst and see it now for what it was. It’s wonderful.

    tomachfive… thank you!

  8. So, what was the answer? Did it ever come to you?

  9. The change has taken place, but I have no idea when it happened!

  10. Interesting. You and I are the same age it would seem. Sadly, by 23 I was stuck in an awful career, and the poet in me died, or at least went into a 20 year coma from which it is only just emerging.

    Nice poem, btw.

    -Smith

  11. Thank you… yes, we are about the same age, but my awful career made me write. When I found the right career, I stopped. I hope my writing again is not some kind of sign. 🙂

  12. Great poem.
    A man of experience obviously.

Leave a Reply

