donuts, donuts

donuts, donuts
love them so much
when i see them
donut bag i just go nuts

yummy, yummy
i’m no dummy
love to put them
in my tummy

joyful, joyful
stuff my face full
oh no! now my
tummy’s too full

jwturner
4/7/2007
on a paper bag while watching my kids eat donuts

[note: I owe the inpiration for this silly little poem to my six year old son. He said, way too loudly as i placed the donuts in front of him, “yummy, yummy, in my tummy!” The poem is a three part story of the joy and sorrow of donuts. ]

13 responses to “donuts, donuts

  1. You let the little ones eat donuts? šŸ™‚

  2. šŸ™‚ Every Saturday I take the kids on a walk to the donut shop, 1 mile there and 1 mile back. It gives mom time to write a bunch of posts for the week for Muthahood.com. And I dig it.

  3. Oh my goodness. Your poem made me smile and then laugh. I really– really…needed this today. Thanks for being silly. Silly is great every so often!

  4. Kenzielee, when I’m with my kids, it’s easy to be silly. šŸ™‚ You’re welcome!

  5. Two of the greatest creations-children and donuts. Just so you know I think donuts are worth every ounce of fat that they pack on.

  6. Naughty Heather

    Donuts rock! And so do you! Great piece- lots of fun!

  7. I stand in front of the donut window each week and say to myself, “you really need to lose some weight.” Then I get a big apple fritter and move on with my life. šŸ™‚

  8. Two words: Crispy Cremes.
    WC

  9. oh yeah… when the hot light is on… oh yeah

  10. Haha!
    I love love love.
    Well done, to you and your son.

  11. Oh yeah, we’re supposed to believe that you wrote that while your kids ate doughnuts? Come on Jeff…..fess up! It was you devouring them with pleasure!!

    Rick LOVES doughnuts by the way (hot ones from Krispy Kreme) Do you have those in CA?

  12. Ines… nothing is better than a hot Krispy Kreme donut. I once ate a dozen in Nashville, TN, after having eaten three helpings at a local “meat and three” diner. I’m not proud.

  13. Pingback: Energy Creates Energy | Jeff Turner

Leave a Reply

