you can’t contain passion

i wish I could
bottle this passion
i wish i could sell it in stores
beside haute couture fashion
or along side of chocolate
in candy aisles
and watch as the throngs
would line up for miles
people would flock,
they’d buy it in scores
in malls, boutiques
and grocery stores
i’d be richer than rich,
wealthy beyond measure,
if i could just bottle
this emotional treasure

or i could step up
and just give it away
free passion for all,
every single day
that would be nice,
a huge worldwide win
and everyone could feel
what i’m feeling within
but i can’t even keep it
bottled inside me
you can’t contain passion
you’re feeling so strongly
so i’m letting it flow
right out of my head
and onto this page
in a poem instead

jwturner
9/29/08

4 responses to “you can’t contain passion

  1. This is really great.

    I was actually just thinking about passion earlier today while preparing for an upcoming meeting, and it’s so true–you can’t bottle it up.

    What’s even better? It’s so attractive. If you’re passionate about something, people won’t be pained to hear what you have to say.

    It becomes pleasantly ironic–the poem begins with the desire to share passion, which then proves impossible; and yet, it’s impossible NOT to share it because your poem as a whole is the process of sharing that passion.

    I hope some of that made sense. It’s a long winded “amen” with lots of “kudos” thrown in.
    ^_^

  2. JT, this reads like an emptying out onto a page. You do a great job at letting the passion lead you here. I love this. I really do. I know you probably think I always say that, but I wouldn’t say it if I didn’t really think it. Esp the idea of bottling the “emotional treasure”. Kim

  3. Kim, thanks. I know you mean it. I just look at them when done and think, “how silly.” Perhaps it’s my need to rhyme. 🙂 I don’t know. I post them anyway, especially these that just “slip” out of my head. They come out almost complete.

    So, I thank you for continuing to stop by. 🙂

  4. Still a good poem. Just checking in. kim

Leave a Reply

