bees, laughter, orange, tree, and blanket

after the long freeze
a warm day brought laughter
children played
parents stopped

the hope of spring
blossomed, like a cherry tree
instant joy
bright smiles

all around, blankets covered
with white legs in tight shorts
begging for sun
praising the sun

every living thing
slowed to take it in
except the bees
punch drunk on spring

and I remember a girl
in an orange skirt
and a kiss
a warm kiss

jwturner
4/19/2007
responding to a challenge to write a poem using the words
bees, laughter, orange, tree, and blanket

[Kim… I hated you for a few moments. Because I picked up your email at 12:05 am after a grueling day and feared I would not find inspiration. But when I saw the words they reminded me, instantly, of growing spring in Beavercreek, Ohio. I was a teenager and in teenage love. There is no first warm day here in southern california. I miss that. It’s now 12:45 am and I’m thanking you for asking me to do this.]

8 responses to “bees, laughter, orange, tree, and blanket

  1. 40 minutes for a complete image.
    I can smell it.
    Congrats.
    SP

  2. 🙂 that’s how it is with me and poetry… it’s feast or famine. It’s either in there or it aint. Thank you.

  3. 🙂 !!!!! JT, this is so good. I swear to you. I love this:
    “every living thing
    slowed to take it in
    except the bees
    punch drunk on spring

    and I remember a girl
    in an orange skirt
    and a kiss
    a warm kiss”

    Very Very well done. You only hate me because I push you. You’ve got talent though and this poem only proves that all the more. Great job.
    Kim

  4. Kim… yes, you do push me. For that I am truly grateful. Thank you for this invite. It was way fun!

    You flatter me, though.

  5. Per usual: Very lovely, very beautiful, very soul-filled.

  6. kenzielee… thank you!

  7. Didn’t realize that you are a poet, too. Reminds me of those early, girly years. Thanks for the memories…loved the donut one, too!

  8. Gena, thank you! Thanks for coming out of the rain for a bit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

